![]() |
WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - Druckversion +- Logic Masters Forum (https://forum.logic-masters.de) +-- Forum: Rätselmeisterschaften und Rätselwettbewerbe (https://forum.logic-masters.de/forumdisplay.php?fid=4) +--- Forum: WSPC 2019 (https://forum.logic-masters.de/forumdisplay.php?fid=42) +--- Thema: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome (/showthread.php?tid=1752) Seiten:
1
2
|
RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - euklid - 29.09.2019 1.2. ABCtje: Is it safe to assume that in the competition puzzle there will be 15 letters - such that ALL numbers from 1 to 15 will be used? Explanation of my question: In the example puzzle ALL the numbers from 1 to 10 are used. The example puzzle would have several solutions if, say, numbers 1 to 11 were allowed. RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - euklid - 29.09.2019 (21.09.2019, 11:28)uvo schrieb:Zitat:Snake Words 1: Does "Multiple words can start in same grey cell if and only if there are multiple arrows emanating from that cell" mean that the number of arrows must be same as the number of words starting? Should it not be: Each combination of grey cell + arrow is used by at most one word? Explanation: Since grey cells are allowed to be empty I would assume that such cells also have arrows (which are not used). Otherwise all grey cells without arrows are empty and all grey cells with arrows are filled. RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - uvo - 29.09.2019 (29.09.2019, 06:28)euklid schrieb: 1.2. ABCtje: Yes, in the competition puzzle there will be 15 letters, and each letter appears in at least one word. RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - uvo - 29.09.2019 (29.09.2019, 06:53)euklid schrieb:(21.09.2019, 11:28)uvo schrieb:Zitat:Snake Words 1: Does "Multiple words can start in same grey cell if and only if there are multiple arrows emanating from that cell" mean that the number of arrows must be same as the number of words starting? Both my answers are correct. Grey cells are allowed to be empty, but as you noticed, in the first puzzle it won't happen. RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - Schachus - 29.09.2019 In that case, I really think that the rule "Each combination of grey cell + arrow is used by exactly one word" that you gave as an answer here should also be stated in the IB, because the difference to " Multiple words can start in the same grey cell if and only if there are multiple arrows emanating from that cell." as stated in the IB seems to be quite big. RE: WPC: Round 1 Individual - Welcome - uvo - 29.09.2019 Maybe so, but it is a bit late for that. I will mention it at the Q&A on Wednesday, of course. Anyway, I think the situation is quite obvious when you see the puzzle. There are [number of grey cells] with [total number of arrows] which is equal to [number of words], just like in the example. |