Logic Masters Forum

Normale Version: Advice on writing puzzle instructions
Du siehst gerade eine vereinfachte Darstellung unserer Inhalte. Normale Ansicht mit richtiger Formatierung.
Hello everyone! I am completely new to logic-masters, and so far I have a great time here. I signed up the other day because I created a puzzle and wanted to share it to the community. One of the commenters said that they had some trouble understanding the puzzle instructions. I wonder how they might be clarified.

The puzzle can be found here. The instructions are as follows:

-----

Normal sudoku rules apply: all of the rows, columns and 3x3 boxes contain the numbers 1-9 once each.

Special rules: In the grid there are 5 hidden non-overlapping 3x3 "magic" boxes that contain the numbers 1-9 once each, arranged in a magic square (i.e., all the rows, columns, and diagonals sum to the same amount). Digits along the thermometer increase from the bulb to the end. Pairs separated by a white dot differ by the indicated amount. All pairs of digits summing to 10 are separated by an X.

sudokupad

Solution code: The digits in row 6 with - between digits separated by a magic box boundary. For example, 12-345-678-9 if there are magic box boundaries between 2 and 3, 5 and 6, and 8 and 9. Magic box boundaries at the outer edge need not be indicated in the solution.

-----

I would be very happy with any constructive feedback, so that I can improve my puzzles for the feature.
Hello Egubachu,

I looked at your puzzle and the rules are clear. The commenter said he had trouble understanding your Solution Code description, not the puzzle's rules. In my opinion the solution code description is also well worded with an example, however, the question is if such an extra rule is necessary. Considering the grid is relatively minimal, it is pretty unlikely that someone will come across the solution without being able to find the magic squares anyway, so just asking for Row 6 probably is enough.